The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

I never would have imagined in my wildest dreams that I would be given the responsibility to read and review the biggest release of this year – “The Testaments”.I feel overwhelmed,and at the same time,anxious.Anxious to tell you about it,anxious to write a review,anxious to make you guys understand what I really feel about it.

When I was 15 (and now Im 18), I had read The Handmaid’s Tale,a timeless classic.It sent shivers down my spine.I was horrified and mesmerized upon reading it.And to say I was excited to read The Testaments would be an understatement.However, mind my words very carefully,for I am going to pen down my exact naked thoughts, it was a disappointment.The Testaments was not needed to be very precise.I wished with all my heart that this would not be the case.What the Handmaid’s Tale built up brick by brick,The Testaments destroyed it down.Yes it did provide us with answers,but sometimes it’s better for some questions to be left unanswered.

The book consists of three PoV’s,three stories of three different human beings of Gilead-Aunt Lydia,Agnes and Daisy.The narration of the three women (idk if we can call two of them ‘women’) were good, however it was Aunt Lydia’s PoV that really kept me going.The book did not totally fell flat,but it wasn’t a brilliant read either. The Testaments is more action-driven than it’s prequel,we are introduced to three women who are ready to sacrifice anything to crush the all-consuming patriarchy.Two of the narrators were teenagers,making The Testaments read more like a YA feminist story.The tones,the dialogues,the character monologues, everything reads like a perfect sequel to the hit TV series.Like it was written for it. The shift in the narratives made the book very very mediocre for me.If,and only if,it was all about Aunt Lydia,The Testaments would have been a remarkable read for me.

Well,to conclude,if you are expecting a cleverly-written,ambitious and thoughtful sequel to the brilliant and timeless Handmaid’s Tale,you are in for a disappointment.However,if you are a fan of the Television series,and are looking for a action-filled sequel to it,The Testaments might just be the book for you!

Leave a comment